Main navigation

Service Learning

Service Learning Opportunities

Each student needs to have performed a minimum of 60 hours of Community Service to graduate (15 hours per SPS school year).

Current Service Learning Opportunities

Here is a list of service opportunities similar to ZooCorps. Contact these organizations and find out how you can volunteer:


List of Organizations and Non-profits

Organizations and Non-Profits in Lake City & North Seattle

Alzheimer’s Association https://www.alz.org/ | 206-363-5500

North Helpline Food Bank http://www.northhelpline.org/ | 206-367-3477

North Seattle Chamber of Commerce  |northseattlechamber@gmail.com  206-363–3287

SCAN Community Media http://scantv.org/ | 206-522-4758

Seattle Parks & Recreation http://www.seattle.gov/parks/find/centers

They Shall Walk http://www.theyshallwalk.org/ | 206-297-9255

Thornton Creek Restoration http://www.scn.org/tca/ | 206-367-4635

Students may also consider serving with the Nathan Hale after school homework Program (See Ms. Greene).

Organizations Outside of North Seattle

911 Media Arts Center https://911media.com/ | 206-682-6552

Arboretum Foundation https://www.arboretumfoundation.org/ | 206-325-4510

Crisis Clinic https://www.crisisconnections.org/ | 206-461-3210

El Centro de la Raza http://www.elcentrodelaraza.org/ | 206-329-9442

Leukemia & Lymphoma Society http://www.lls.org/ | 206-628-0777

Orion Center http://www.youthcare.org/ | 206-622-5555

Powerful Voices https://www.powerfulvoices.org/ | 206-860-1026

Refugee Women’s Alliance https://www.rewa.org/ | 206-721-0243

Ronald McDonald House https://www.rmhcseattle.org/ | 206-838-0606

Seattle Art Museum http://www.seattleartmuseum.org/ | 206-654-3168

Seattle Aquarium https://www.seattleaquarium.org/ | 206-386-4300

Seattle Cancer Care Alliance https://www.seattlecca.org/ | 206-288-7222

The Service Board http://www.theserviceboard.org/ | 206-324-7771

Treehouse https://www.treehouseforkids.org/ | 206-767-7000

Wing Luke Museum http://www.wingluke.org/join-give/ | 206-623-5124

Woodland Park Zoo https://www.zoo.org/ | 206-548-2564

Youth Care http://www.youthcare.org/ | 206-694-4500

Youth in Focus https://youthinfocus.org/ | 206-723-1479

  • King County United Way helps you find service opportunities at: https://www.uwkc.org/volunteer/
  • Google “Volunteer in Seattle” for more opportunities.
  • Blank Service Learning Contracts are available on the Forms and Documents page  under the Service Learning heading.
  • Time sensitive volunteer opportunities are available in the Counseling Office blue notebook.